Thermodynamic Process

Thermodynamic Process

An event which tends to change the state of a system by changing its state variables and other functions is called “Thermodynamic Process”. It may be supplying energy to a system, compressing a system by increasing pressure etc.

The Four Types of Thermodynamic Processes

The four types of thermodynamic process are isobaric, isochoric, isothermal and adiabatic. 

Isobaric Process

'Iso' means the same, and 'baric' means pressure.     P = constant.
An isobaric process is one where the pressure of the system (often a gas) stays constant.

Isochoric Process

An isochoric process is one where the volume of the system stays constant. Again, 'iso' means the same and 'choric' means volume.
Volume is the amount of space the material takes up. So this would be like heating a gas in a solid, non-expandable container. The molecules would move faster and the pressure would increase, but the volume of the container stays the same.
Isothermal Process
An isothermal process occurs at a constant temperature. An example would be a closed system immersed in and thermally connected with a large constant-temperature bath. Energy gained by the system, through work done on it, is lost to the bath, so that its temperature remains constant.

Adiabatic Process

The process in which change in pressure and volume and temperature takes place without any heat entering or leaving the system is called adiabatic change.

                                                                Back to chemistry notes

Previous Post Next Post